Turns out that I CAN sew and got another blog award!

I tried posting this last week, but there were some technical difficulties. 
Let’s start out with my new blog award.  Soon after I posted the other one, I received one called the KreativBlogger Award!
kreativ_bloggerIsn’t that just a pretty award?  😀  Brenda Myers nominated me for it. 

Here’s what I have to do:  The rules of this award are to list seven things I love and then pass it on to another seven KreativBloggers.
OK, here are seven things I love:
1) Yarn
2) Knitting Looms
3) Knitting needles
4) Crochet hooks
5) Reading
6) Singing
7) Watching my children grow and become their own individuals with their own creativity.

The seven bloggers that I nominate to receive this award:
1) GuppyGirl
2) GettinItPegged
3) PurlingSprite
4) Knitting Without Needles
5) Knitting Muse
6) Cre8tive KJ’s Corner
7) Looms, Boards, and Graciela

Now, onto what I did last week.  I sewed.  I sewed my very first project with a sewing machine for the very first time….and I made up the pattern on my own!  Here is my machine that I have been too terrified to touch for months:
001_renamed_26166It’s really not so scary when you actually sit down and watch the video tape that came with it to show how to work it.  😛  I really do like it now.  We aren’t exactly inseperable, but I am confident enough to have made myself a Bible cover without following any pattern.  I sat down and measured my Bible, then applied those measurements to make the flaps that hold my Bible in place, then made an outer cover with a pocket.  It also has handles on it.  The kids liked it so much that they sorta wanted to steal it.  And my MIL who is an experienced seamstress (is that the word?) her whole life, PLUS she works in a factory that sews clothes, was very proud of me.  😀
Here is Sir Thade posing with the finished Bible cover (I told you they wanted to steal it!):
002_renamed_78251Please don’t pay attention to the crappy linoleum.  It’s gonna get replaced…….eventually.  😦

And a close up of the pocket (has two snaps stitched to the inside of the flap:003_renamed_16721

And a pic of the inside flap (that could have been made a tad bit wider, but I’m still proud of the whole thing.  :D):
004_renamed_11686

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 23:01:19

    Look at you, girlfriend! 😉 Way to go!

    Reply

  2. gettinitpegged
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 01:01:53

    Okay…now you’re getting into some excellent crafting territory, lol! 😉 Can you tell sewing is another one of my favorites? You’ve done an absolutely marvelous job on your bible cover…hmmmmm…seems like I’ve seen that fabric before! 😉

    Bethany~

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 03:58:33

    I’m impressed. Sewing machines and I have never gotten along well. hmmm….maybe I should get a White. I understand they are fantastic.

    Thank you for the award!
    Kathy

    Reply

  4. isela
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 03:48:58

    That is an amazing Bible cover! Great job. I’ve tried sewing…hmm, I spent about 2 hours trying to figure out how to wind the bobbin, lol. At the end a friend helped me out.

    Thank you for the award 🙂

    Reply

  5. loominaddict1
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 17:16:27

    Hi Robin,
    I love the bag, did you use a certain pattern. All I find are tiny. lol The floor I have one like that, my hubby was smart and found a baby squirl put it in a cage and brought it in. Ok it was doing ok and I would play with it (this was before we were married). I have been home for a week or so and come back and the squirl had eaten the floor and he didn’t even know it. He kept moving it around so everywhere he moved it it ate the floor. He put the thing in the basement and the poor creature died. I think it was lonely. Then we got the Min Pin puppy and she found all the spots where the squirl ate and pulled up the floor. It didn’t stop there she found every nail head that was working its way up and she pulled up that part of the floor also. It is all in the den and it looks so funny. One day when we can afford it we will replace it with something else. lol

    Reply

Leave a comment