Almost forgot!

I had almost forgotten to say that I finished the Central Park Hoodie.  I’m in love.  The Red Heart SS is a little scratchy, but I’ve worn it several times (meaning daily) since I completed it on September 14th.  Here are the pics:
002_renamed_19224The back of the CPH
003I didn’t want buttons on it, so I used hooks and eyes as the closures.
Now I am knitting this pretty baby that I found on http://www.favecrafts.com

Cable Cardigan with HoodIt’s called a Cabled Cardigan with Hood, but I like to call it the Celtic Cabled Hoodie!  😀

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. isela
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 03:21:39

    Very nice! Have you seen Rogue by the GirlfromAuntie. It is one of my favs! http://www.girlfromauntie.com/patterns/shop/rogue/detail.php

    Reply

  2. Kelly J
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 14:49:41

    It looks wonderful Robin! I love the color – so pretty. Something to be proud of.

    Reply

  3. Brenda GA
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 14:58:17

    Wow! How long have you been needle knitting? You did an awesome job on that sweater!

    Reply

  4. Bethany
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 17:55:16

    Simply enchanting Robin-excellent job on that!

    Reply

  5. Tammi
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 20:37:32

    It is BEAUTIFUL!!! That is just amazing!

    Reply

  6. guppylovesshark
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 01:57:24

    Super pretty knitting, girlfriend 🙂 You did an awesome job! Hugs!

    Reply

  7. Kristen
    Oct 09, 2009 @ 15:38:10

    Hi Robin,

    Your sweater is gorgeous, I love the look of the hooks vs. buttons. Where did you get the pattern, was it original? The cabled “celtic” hoodie is one of my faves, please post pictures when it’s finished!

    Kristen

    Editor
    FaveCrafts.com

    Reply

  8. Melissa
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 16:11:54

    I have been eye-ing the Central Park Hoodie for quite a while now. I love it! You did great!!! 🙂

    Have you considered trying it on a loom instead? I am a very beginning stick knitter, but I know a little more about the loom. Where would you likely start if you tried this on a loom? What loom would you choose to use for it?

    Reply

    • robinlmccoy
      Jan 12, 2010 @ 23:41:30

      It would be possible on a loom, but it would be best to get the precise gauge so that there wouldn’t need to be pattern alterations and you would have to have the patience for both the cables (which are much easier on needles) and the decreasing (which on needles is just one simple step but on the loom means you would have to move the stitches inward to fill in the gaps. You also would have to have a loom large enough to pick up all the stitches along the front to create the ribbed band. I’m thinking it was well over 100 stitches total that needed to be picked up for just one half of the front. I had already thought about it and concluded that it would be much easier and faster on the needles. 🙂

      Robin McCoy Sent from my iPod

      Reply

      • Melissa
        Jan 13, 2010 @ 13:10:07

        You’re probably right, I’m sure. Bummer. I’m still working on my very first scarf on the needles & it has been frogged 5 times already. LOL! 🙂 Oddly enough, I have a simple lace patterned shrug on another pair of needles that I’ve done about 20 rows on & that is coming along MUCH better than my garter stitch scarf. Go figure! I’m sure I’ll do this hoodie eventually. I just figured the loom would make it a tad bit harder to drop stitches as I am prone to do. 🙂 Thank you for the info.

      • robinlmccoy
        Jan 13, 2010 @ 14:42:28

        You’ll get used to the needles with practice. Don’t worry! And you’ll learn so much from knowing how to do things on the needles AND on the loom. You will open up a wider world of pattern possibilities. There are a lot of patterns out there that just can’t be done on a loom. I was going to convert a lace stitch pattern to the loom once, then realized that I’d have to make 20 yarn overs in one row. Not gonna happen on the looms! Lol!

        Robin McCoy Sent from my iPod

Leave a Reply

