Take a look at my ancient monstrocity!

This is my new toy courtesy of MIL.  It is quite a monstrocity and I think it was her very first sewing machine.  I feel very special that she trusts me with something that should surely be an antique or maybe she was just finding someone to pawn it off on…but either way I am very grateful for it!  It only does a straight stitch, but who gives a flip right now?!  NOT ME!  And I need to find a replacement belt thingy for it that dry rotted.  She said I should be able to find it easily at a store that carries sewing machine parts.
sewingmachine
sewingmachine2
So, what does everyone think?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 16:41:37

    Ooooh, neat! It looks a lot like one hubby’s Mom has. I can’t wait to see some pretty sewing 😉

    Reply

  2. Lauri
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 11:11:19

    Oh, man, I am so envious! Always wanted an ol’ time Singer sewing machine. My grandmother had one that I just loved to work on. Saw one for sale in Glennallen, Alsaska, but was so broke at the time. Oh well, someday…..lol

    Reply

  3. kate
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:09:39

    I have my Grandma’s old Singer- “the portable” electric that replaced her treadle machine. Bent hardwood case, cast iron, guilt wheat design. Works well. i’ve found that I can still replace the drive belt, but I haven’t had luck with the belt that works the bobbin winder, so I just work around it.

    Congrats!

    Reply

  4. Bethany
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 15:24:17

    I have your machines cousin at home it’s a work horse! You can get the belts at walmart but if you are opposed to walmart try your local singer store. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Tammey
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 04:10:08

    Ohh, beautiful! Reminds me of my mother’s machine (a White). I think hers can only do a straight stitch also. Mine (another White, but a tad newer) will at least do a zig-zag, if nothing else. But whatever you do, make sure to buy a replacement belt that is bagged, not just hanging on the wall in open air; the unbagged ones will snap in a heartbeat because they’re dried out.

    Reply

  6. Jan
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 22:34:23

    This reminds me of my mother’s wonderful second hand electric sewing machine (c. 1050s) that could sew ruffles, blind hems, smock etc etc. She & I sewed clothes and toys with it for several years. At college I got a hand-turned Singer (c. 1908) which only did a straight stitch, but helped me make pants & even a suit. Loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

