First Handspun Yarn

Well, on Tuesday I recieved my very first drop spindle.  She is a bottom whorl, handpainted drop spindle by Annie May on Etsy.com. 

Isn’t she pretty?  🙂
The roving that came with the ‘learn to spin’ kit was 4 oz of Ashland Trading Co. colonial wool top in a Seafoam color.  The first handspun from it wasn’t disastrous or horrendous, as I expected it would be….but it wasn’t gorgeous either.  LOL!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eliea
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 01:22:10

    I love the color! It looks fab! You can make it more towards “gorgeous” by plying it with another yarn or even thread or something fun like that!
    Enjoy spinning it’s quite addictive!

    Reply

  2. Karol Beaufore
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 18:41:47

    Robin I just bought a new drop spindle on Friday (9 -5-08) I also bought some roving but haven’t had the nerve to try it yet. I like your new blog.
    Karol
    nklu1107

    Reply

Leave a Reply

